Call Us (850) 599-3861

Florida A&M University National Alumni Association

Join The FAMU NAA Today! Join Now


Since the first five students graduated from the State Normal School For Colored Students in 1892, approximately 75,000 alumni have migrated all over this state, this nation and abroad. The success and significant accomplishments of these graduates are manifestations of the quality of their development at Florida A&M University and FAMU’s legacy of progressing and making the essential adjustments to meet the ever changing demands of society.

The alumni association was first organized in 1901 with Elias B. Evans, from Live Oak & the class of 1895 as president with a mission of helping to secure the Carnegie Library as well as raising funds for books. Under the next president in 1907, Everett Jones, class of 1895, the alumni association became a more statewide organization.

During the Association’s 112 years of existence, the FAMU National Alumni Association has provided the kind of leadership that has helped to create a spirit in alumni that is second to no other university in America. Alumni involvement in image building, student recruitment, fund raising, governmental affairs and other vital supportive activities has been essential to the welfare and survival of our alma mater. The Association has been led by 18 strong alumni presidents from 1901 to 2013. The 18 presidents include the following: Elias G. Evans, Everett B. Jones, Samuel Coleman, Everett Rolfe, Lucille Coleman, Horace D. Goode, Charles Wilson, James Gant, Leonard W. Johnson, Moses General Miles, Joseph L. Webster, Herman Davis, Nathaniel Pilate, Bernard Kinsey, Carolyn Collins, Alvin Bryant, Tommy Mitchell Sr., and current President Gregory L. Clark.

Read More

The Mission of FAMU NAA

The Florida A&M University National Alumni Association (NAA), a non-profit organization, incorporated under the laws of the State of Florida, was established to serve its alumni and the University, to actively promote the interest of Florida A&M University as an institution of higher learning, research and public service, to focus on the educational needs of all Americans to support cultural diversity and equal access to a quality education at Florida A&M University. The NAA works to stimulate interest in the University among students, former students, graduates, family and friends of FAMU, corporate partners, and others while providing financial, moral and political support.

Distinguished Alumni Award Donors

The FAMU National Alumni Association expresses its sincerest gratitude to our donors for the 2017 Florida A&M University Distinguished Alumni Awards Program!

  • The Honorable George H. Brown
  • Mr. Clarence Childs
  • Dr. Richard Danford Jr.
  • Mr. Jean Downing
  • Edwards Media Group, Inc.
  • Ms. Emma Fountain
  • Mr. Walter Gulley Jr.
  • Mr. John R. Haugabrook
  • Dr. Simon O. Johnson
  • Dr. Ezell Pittman
  • Ms. Patricia Salary
  • Ms. Lena Smalls

The 2017 Florida A&M University Distinguished Alumni Awards gala will be held during the FAMU National Alumni Association Convention on Friday, May 26, 6:30 pm (pre-gala reception at 6:00 pm) at the Hilton Baltimore, 401 West Pratt Street, Baltimore, MD 21201.